Happy Derby Day! Check back here throughout the day for live coverage from the Cardinal’s staff at Churchill Downs. Use #TLCDerby to interact with us on social media. 

6:50 p.m.: Nyquist is the winner of the Kentucky Derby. -BM

6:48 p.m.: The race has begun and the crowd is full of excitement. -BM

6:42 p.m.: The horses are about to take their post for the 142nd running of the Kentucky Derby. – Brooke Moody

2:51 p.m.: Taris wins race eight. -OK.

2:05 p.m.: Yesterday’s Oaks-winning jockey Javier Castellano wins again in race seven. Winning horse is Catalina Red. -OK.

1:24 p.m.: Track is being combed over for the next race, and the crowd is now out in full force. Gallery from the previous two races below. -Sam Draut.

Photos by Sam Draut / The Louisville Cardinal

1:18 p.m.: Tepin wins race six. Race seven set to begin at 1:55 p.m. -OK.

12:39 p.m.: Hesinfront wins race five. Race six begins at 1:13 p.m. -OK.

12:05 p.m.: Res Ipsa wins fourth race. Call the Colonel won the second race, with Jazzy Time winning the third. -OK.

12:00 p.m.: Celebrity guests begin arriving at Kentucky Derby. – Kyeland Jackson

10:35 a.m.: First race is complete. Rocket Time wins. -OK.

10:13 a.m.: Quick reminder to check out our Facebook account for videos from the track. Follow our new Instagram account at @TheCardinalNews. -OK.

9:05 a.m.: Gates opened at 8 a.m., and people are slowly but steadily filling into the grandstand and infield. First race is at 10:30 a.m. – Olivia Krauth.