Lamar Jackson wins the Heisman trophy

By on December 10, 2016

By Dalton Ray–

Sophomore quarterback Lamar Jackson is the 82nd winner of the Heisman trophy, the first in school history.

“To the Heisman voters, I’m truly honored and humbled to be named the 2016 Heisman winner. I’m extremely proud to represent this class and the University of Louisville to be their first Heisman trophy winner,” Jackson said. “To my teammates, this one is for all of us. I can’t wait to cherish this with all of you. I love you guys.”

Jackson totaled 4,298 yards and 51 touchdowns in his 2016 campaign. The 51 single-season touchdowns is a school and ACC record. His 1,538 rushing yards by a quarterback is also a school and conference record.

Only three Louisville quarterbacks have thrown for more yards in a single season than Jackson. Throwing for 3,390 yards, Jackson found the end zone through the air 30 times during the year.

Jackson is one of six players to pass for 30 touchdowns and rush for 20 touchdowns in a season. He is the only one of the six to do so in a regular season.

Jackson took the nation by storm from the opening night of the season. Totaling 405 yards and eight touchdowns, Jackson was only getting started. The sophomore totaled at least 300 yards in 10-of-12 games and scored at least four touchdowns eight times.

The Heisman is the crowning jewel of all individual accolades Jackson earned this season. Earlier this week, he added the Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award to his trophy case.

In one season, Jackson earned the Heisman, Maxwell Award, Walter Camp Award, ACC Player of the Year, ACC Offensive Player of the Year and the Sporting News Player of the Year.

Other finalists for the award included Deshaun Watson, Jabrill Peppers, Baker Mayfield and Dede Westbrook.

Jackson and his teammates face LSU in the Citrus Bowl on Dec. 31 at 11 a.m.

Photo by Nancy Hanner / The Louisville Cardinal

About Dalton Ray

Sports editor (2016-18) that is technically award winning.Email: [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *