Brief: SGA holds final meeting

By on April 16, 2014

By Jacob Abrahamson–

The SGA Student Senate held its annual banquet and final meeting of the year on April 15.

The evening began with the presentation of awards to various SGA members for their services this year.  Winners include Albin George as the best undergraduate Senator, Benjamin Leamon as best graduate Sentor, Brandon McReynolds for the Dean Mardis Award of Excellence, Drew Shever for Staff Member of the Year and Reachel Croley for the “Spirit of SGA Award.”

Graduating seniors were also recognized for serving with SGA.

At the end of the banquet, Chief Justice Ben Shepard swore the new Top 4 and the new SGA Senators into their positions for the 2014-2015 school year.

At the Senate meeting, held immediately after the banquet, the outgoing Top 4 shared their final updates.

“We have a lot to be proud of,” said Carrie Mattingly, the outgoing president, citing accomplishments mentioned in her state of the student body address.

Services Vice President Morgan Jenny also spoke about the launch of a student taxi service in 2015 and the gown recycling program which will be available at graduation.  This will allow students to return gowns to be reused next year.

Appropriations committee chair and Business President Albin George also spoke about the payment of SGA members, saying that members have an obligation to work hard because they are getting student money as tuition remission.  As a total, about $200,000 of the SGA budget goes towards tuition remission and stipend for senators and officers.

“At the last meeting, attendance was awful,” said George, to reinforce his point.

Other Senate business included the approval of six new RSOs and the approval of Arts and Sciences President Victoria Allen as next year’s Senate Speaker.  The next Senate meeting will be at their retreat on Aug. 23.

Full disclosure:  Albin George is a member of the board for the Cardinal.

About Jacob Abrahamson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *